Call for Papers


2nd IZA Workshop on Entrepreneurship Research

Organizers: Marco Caliendo (IZA), Alexander S. Kritikos (DIW Berlin)
Location:IZA, Bonn
Date:May 12 - May 13, 2011

Submission Deadline:February 22, 2011
Notification of Acceptance:March 01, 2011
Final Papers Due:April 26, 2011

Event Manager:

Ulrike Maurer

About the Workshop

The aim of the workshop is to bring together leading scholars and young researchers working on topics related to entrepreneurship research. We invite contributions from various interdisciplinary backgrounds: Theoretical contributions as well as empirical research using survey evidence, laboratory experiments, neuroeconomic methods, and field experiments are welcome.
Examples of Research Topics of the workshop are:
  • Personality Characteristics and Entrepreneurial Development
  • Risk and Time Preferences of Entrepreneurs
  • Entrepreneurs and Cognitive and Non-Cognitive Skills
  • Decision Making Processes of Entrepreneurs
  • The process of Firmsí Entry, Survival and Growth
  • Entrepreneurship and Motivations
  • Firm Dynamics
  • Remuneration of Entrepreneurs
A Keynote Lecture by Professor Roy Thurik (Erasmus University Rotterdam) will open the workshop. Those authors who are invited are expected to participate in the entire 2-day meeting. A selected set of papers will be published in a special issue of an international journal.


The conference and lodging will be free of charge, and we will reimburse travel expenses according to IZA travel guidelines.


Researchers desiring to present their work at this meeting are encouraged to submit a complete paper or an extended abstract by February 22, 2011 using the online application form. Papers have to be unpublished at the time of submission. Please indicate your willingness to serve as a discussant. In the case of multiple authors, please indicate the correspondence author who would be presenting the paper. It is expected that about 12 papers will be accepted for presentation over the two day meeting. Acceptance decisions will be announced by March 1, 2011.