Logo

IZA/University of Duisburg-Essen Workshop: The Economics of Long-Term Care and Healthy Aging

Organizers: Olivier Deschenes (University of California, Santa Barbara and IZA), Martin Karlsson (University of Duisburg-Essen and IZA), Joan Costa-Font (London School of Economics and IZA), Nico Pestel (IZA)
Location:ONLINE
Date:September 03, 2020

Event Manager:

Viola Hartmann (IZA)



Program

+++ presentation: 20 minutes +++ discussant: 10 minutes +++ floor discussion: 10 minutes +++


All times stated in CEST (Central European Summer Time, GMT+2)

13:45 CEST (GMT+2) is:

4:45 PDT (GMT-7)
7:45 EDT (GMT-4)

11:45 GMT

21:45 AEST (GMT+10)

Thursday, September 03:

 
13:45 - 14:00   Welcome Remarks

Martin Karlsson
(University of Duisburg-Essen and IZA)
 
 
 
        Session A:
  Chair: Joan Costa-Font (London School of Economics and IZA)
 
14:00 - 14:40   Michelle Tran (University of Queensland), Brenda Gannon (University of Queensland), Christiern Rose (University of Queensland)
  "Income-poor but Asset-rich: Effect of Wealth on Older Adults’ Healthcare Utilization"
  Discussant: Thorben Korfhage (RWI)
 
14:40 - 15:20   Bram Wouterse (Erasmus University Rotterdam), Johan Bonekamp (Tilburg University)
  "The Effect of Shocks in Health on Wealth"
  Discussant: Nico Pestel (IZA)
 
15:20 - 16:00   Viola Angelini (University of Groningen), Joan Costa-Font (London School of Economics and IZA), Berkay Ozcan (London School of Economics)
  "A Strategic Gift Motive? Evidence from European Inheritance Tax Reforms"
  Discussant: Courtney Van Houtven (Duke University)
 
 
16:00 - 16:30   Break
 
 
        Session B:
  Chair: Nico Pestel (IZA)
 
16:30 - 17:10   Ana Moura (Tilburg University)
  "Does Long-term Care Provision Reduce Hospital Bed-blocking? Evidence from a Policy Reform in Portugal"
  Discussant: Joan Costa-Font (London School of Economics and IZA)
 
17:10 - 17:50   Pieter Bakx (Erasmus University Rotterdam), Bram Wouterse (Erasmus University Rotterdam), Marianne Tenand (Erasmus University Rotterdam)
  "Do Co-payments Affect Nursing Home Entry? Quasi-experimental Evidence Using Dutch Administrative Data"
  Discussant: Jeannette Brosig-Koch (University of Duisburg-Essen)
 
17:50 - 18:30   Daniel S. Hamermesh (Barnard College and IZA)
  "Adjusting to Loss: Widow Time"
  Discussant: Viola Angelini (University of Groningen)
 
 
18:30 - 19:00   Break
 
 
        Session C:
  Chair: Olivier Deschenes (University of California, Santa Barbara and IZA)
 
19:00 - 19:40   Henning Ĝien (Norwegian Institute of Public Health)
  "Ownership Conversions and Earnings of Care Workers in the Nursing Home Sector"
  Discussant: Edward C. Norton (University of Michigan)
 
19:40 - 20:20   Martin Karlsson (University of Duisburg-Essen and IZA), Tor Iversen (University of Oslo), Norman Bannenberg (University of Duisburg-Essen), Henning Ĝien (Norwegian Institute of Public Health), Oddvar Fĝrland (Western Norway University of Applied Sciences)
  "Preventive Home Visits"
  Discussant: Meghan Skira (University of Georgia)
 
20:20 - 21:00   Nicolai Kuminoff (Arizona State University), Kelly C. Bishop (Arizona State University), Jonathan D. Ketcham (Arizona State University)
  "Hazed and Confused: The Effect of Air Pollution on Dementia"
  Discussant: Olivier Deschenes (University of California, Santa Barbara and IZA)