IZA - Conference Program

Logo

5th IZA Junior/Senior Symposium

Organizers: Daniel S. Hamermesh (Barnard College and IZA), Maia Güell (University of Edinburgh and IZA)
Location:ONLINE
Date:October 15, 2021 - October 16, 2021

Event Manager:

Dominik Spitza (IZA)

Time Zones

The program starts at 15:28 CEST (Central European Summer Time, GMT+2)

Please carefully check your time zone.

14:28 United Kingdom Time
09:28 US Eastern Time
08:28 US Central Time
07:28 US Mountain Time
06:28 US Pacific Time

Program

+++ presentation: 30 minutes +++ main discussant: 15 minutes +++

+++ senior discussant: 5 minutes +++
(Maia Güell, most European-affiliated authors; Daniel Hamermesh, most North American-affiliated authors)

+++ floor discussion: 10 minutes +++

Friday, October 15:

15:28 - 15:30   Welcoming Remarks
Daniel S. Hamermesh (Barnard College and IZA)
 
 
15:30 - 16:30   Catalina Franco (Norwegian School of Economics), Amelia Hawkins (Brandeis University)
  "Strategic Decisions Have “Major” Consequences: Gender Differences in College Major Choices"
  Discussant: Fernando Saltiel (McGill University)
  Discussant: Maia Güell (University of Edinburgh and IZA)
 
16:30 - 17:30   Yannay Shanan (Tel Aviv University)
  "Intergenerational Effects of Welfare Participation"
  Discussant: Riley Wilson (Brigham Young University)
  Discussant: Maia Güell (University of Edinburgh and IZA)
 
 
17:30 - 17:45   Biological Break
 
 
17:45 - 18:45   Amanda Chuan (Michigan State University), Weilong Zhang (University of Cambridge)
  "Workplace Automation and the Gender Gap in College Enrollment"
  Discussant: Jose Montalban (SOFI, Stockholm University)
  Discussant: Maia Güell (University of Edinburgh and IZA)
 
 
18:45 - 19:15   Long Break
 
 
19:15 - 20:15   Maria Balgova (IZA)
  "The Geography of Recruitment"
  Discussant: Elliott Isaac (Tulane University)
  Discussant: Maia Güell (University of Edinburgh and IZA)
 
20:15 - 21:15   Gueyon Kim (University of California, Santa Cruz)
  "Trade-Induced Creation of New Work"
  Discussant: Yannay Shanan (Tel Aviv University)
  Discussant: Daniel S. Hamermesh (Barnard College and IZA)
 
 
21:15 - 21:30   Biological Break
 
 
21:30 - 22:30   Fernando Saltiel (McGill University), Jaime Arellano-Bover (Yale University and IZA)
  "Differences in On-the-Job Learning Across Firms"
  Discussant: Viacheslav Yakubenko (University of Göttingen)
  Discussant: Daniel S. Hamermesh (Barnard College and IZA)
 

Saturday, October 16:

15:30 - 16:30   Special Presentation
 
    Daniel S. Hamermesh (Barnard College and IZA)
  "How Does the Economics Profession Work?"
 
16:30 - 17:30   Jose Montalban (SOFI, Stockholm University), Alexandra de Gendre (University of Sydney and IZA), Shushanik Margaryan (University of Potsdam)
  "The Impact of Low-Income Priority Points on School Choice and Student Performance"
  Discussant: Gueyon Kim (University of California, Santa Cruz)
  Discussant: Maia Güell (University of Edinburgh and IZA)
 
 
17:30 - 17:45   Biological Break
 
 
17:45 - 18:45   Viacheslav Yakubenko (University of Göttingen)
  "Can't Buy Me Sun. Exploring the Relationship between Solar Exposure, Structural Change and Suicide"
  Discussant: Amanda Chuan (Michigan State University)
  Discussant: Daniel S. Hamermesh (Barnard College and IZA)
 
 
18:45 - 19:15   Long Break
 
 
19:15 - 20:15   Riley Wilson (Brigham Young University)
  "The Impact of State Borders on Mobility and Regional Labor Market Adjustments"
  Discussant: Maria Balgova (IZA)
  Discussant: Daniel S. Hamermesh (Barnard College and IZA)
 
20:15 - 21:15   Elliott Isaac (Tulane University)
  "Spousal Bargaining Power: Decoupling Gender Norms and Earning Status"
  Discussant: Catalina Franco (Norwegian School of Economics)
  Discussant: Daniel S. Hamermesh (Barnard College and IZA)
 




Participation

If you are interested in the Symposium feel free to sign up to live-stream the event: Guest-Registration